Type Contents of 1Password Field (Feature Request)

Options
ossiejhmoore
ossiejhmoore
Community Member
edited October 2020 in 1Password in the Browser

Feature Suggested: An option to "type" the contents of a 1Password entry field.
The Problem: There are several situations (I have a dozen or so such situations) where a user, especially technology workers such as myself, are forced to manually type a password entry. One example of this is as follows: I often use RDP/Citrix/GoToMeeting/etc. from my local machine to connect and work on remote machines either independently or in tandem with a client user. Often the policies of the remote organization disallow copy/paste of the clipboard contents. In these situations, I must manually type a long complex password into a field on the remote session.
My Solution: Because I am a developer, I wrote myself a utility that "types" the contents of the clipboard. Therefore, when connected to a remote session, I copy the field in 1Password then use the keyboard shortcut of my clipboard typer application to begin typing the contents of the clipboard after the mouse is idle for a configurable period of time. (This gives me the ability to focus on the specific input element on the remote host before my utility begins "typing" whatever is in the local machine's clipboard.) This way, the local machine is just issuing keystroke events.
Suggestion: I would suggest that the 1Password add the ability to not just include the option to auto-fill the contents of a field using the [commant]+[\] keyboard shortcut but also a mechanism to "type" the contents of a 1password field.