Multi-tasking support in 1Password for Android when providing two factor authentication

Shubhan
Shubhan
Community Member

Hi Team,

I am relatively new to 1Password, and setup my passwords using your web interface. I also setup your Android app and everything was fine, as I was getting used to the new 1Password normal.

Once comfortable, I enabled Two factor auth on a authenticator app followed by a Master password change to a stronger one.

This was the behavior in the Android app.

• To login it asked for my biometric auth
  • That was stuck at 'decrypting' screen without opening.
  • Then I tried entering the new Master password, it did not even accept that. Hard luck.
  • Forced killed the app and tried again without network, this time it worked. Not sure why.
  • To sync, started network, and app gave a 'update account' screen, asking for new master password.
  • Entered the new Master password and confirm.
  • Now it asked me for two factor auth.
  • I switched to the authenticator app, got the code
  • Now when I'm back on the 1Password app, again on the login screen.
  • This is now a loop!

Finally, disabled the two factor authentication.

• Came back to app, deleted app cache and setup app like first time login experience.
  • This worked and I was able to access the app. This was a sigh of relief.

Now I enabled two factor authentication again.

• The app asks for two-factor code when i login using biometric.
  • Switch to the authenticator app, get code.
  • Switching back to 1Password, provide biometric again.
  • Fortunately the two factor prompt page is still present I could enter the code

Here's my ask for your team

• Please try these setup scenarios internally so that the overall experience in providing two factor auth can be improved.
  • In a scenario where I just had the app (not logged in to website) , it would have become impossible to login.