"Classic" browser plugin reads rubbish from keyboard

The weirdest issue ever. The desktop agent works fine. The "classic" plugin (on both Chrome and Firefox) reads garbage characters when I type in the search box. Does the same in the password field, so I can't unlock it from the browser.

Here is the example. I'm typing "a" on keyboard all the time:

Sometimes it works OK (?!). What the...? I've been using 1Password for a few years now, but after a few fiascos perhaps it's time to look around.

Has anybody had the same issue?

Many thanks

M

1Password Version: 7.6.793
Extension Version: 4.7.5.90
OS Version: Windows 10 Pro
Sync Type: Local (deskop agent)
Referrer: forum-search:keyboard characters

Comments

• Hey there @maciekm, welcome to the 1Password Support Community! 🎉

I'm really sorry you're running into this issue with 1Password - let's get things back up and running. This is definitely an odd issue - one that I have not come across in the past. I'm sure we can narrow down what's going wrong though. :smile:

To confirm, this is only happening in the browser, correct? And this issue is not present when typing in other fields in the browser, such as when you're entering text onto a website, or typing in any other browser extension?

I'd like to try running three tests:

1. Could you lock 1Password, close your browser, and press the keyboard shortcut Ctrl + Alt + \? This should launch 1Password mini, and request your Master Password. Are you able to type normally there?

2. After unlocking 1Password, please copy a random portion of text from elsewhere on your device (such as a word or two from a browser page), open 1Password mini in your browser, and paste the text into the search bar of 1Password mini. Does it paste in the same form, or does it paste garbled text again?