2fa should I use it? Authy is my 2fa of choice any advice?

kram5819
kram5819
Community Member
edited April 2021 in Android

Hello Everyone,
I've been using Google two-step authentication for years, for the past two years I've switched over to Authy from Google authenticator because I like the auto back up feature that Authy has and not having to re-scan any codes if I get a new device.

I've never had an issue. So far I've never locked myself out of any account. IF I have an issue I Wonder how the heck I would get in my 1password account.

I am debating whether or not to continue to use two-step authentication for my 1password account? Or tun it off due to the fear of possibly getting locked out. I have a very strong master password. I am new to using 1password & I'm still trying to figure out the 2 fa code generating option that is offered. It is the feature below. I am a bit confused buy it & don't think I will use it.

When setting up two-factor authentication, you’ll be provided with a TOTP secret that you can store in an authenticator app of your choosing.**

Looking at it makes me not want to use it because if somebody would ever get into my 1password account I don't want them to have the automatic codes generated. I would want them to have to log into Authy which they wouldn't be able because they wouldn't know the password to Authy to be able to get into my accounts.

Bitwarden has 2 features I really would like to see 1password offer, I can have an email sent to me with a 6-digit code to get in my account as a 2fa method, or I can use a two-step authentication code from the authenticator I have set up.

I find that handy because IF Authy ever failed, I would be able to log in with my e-mail address sending me a log in code. I wonder if 1password might consider doing something similar.

And the other neat feature is the ability to log into your vault with your password if you choose or a PIN number that you can set up.