Temporarily removing Desktop App Integration

Comments

• nikmolnar
    nikmolnar
    Community Member
    edited March 2021

I'm new to this thread, and to the forum. This morning, I had to install the 1Password extension on a new browser; the first time I've had to do this in a while. I was surprised when it asked me to sign in through the browser, even though I was already signed in on the desktop app, and was used to always signing in through the desktop app (this is one of the things I really appreciated when I first switched to 1Password).

I eventually found that the functionality I was expecting is now in the "classic" extension. I'm glad this option is still available, and was happy to see that this functionality will be (re) added to the new extension. However, it seems a bit odd that the new extension is now the default, having not yet reached feature parity with the "classic" extension. It seems like this would fit better as an opt-in beta instead of the default option.

• nickmcguire
    nickmcguire
    1Password Alumni

Heya @nikmolnar πŸ‘‹πŸΌ

Welcome to the forum, we're happy to have you! πŸŽ‰

I'm glad you were able to find the extension that fit what you were looking for. Both 1Password in the browser and the 1Password classic extension have their own benefits (one of those definitely being the unlock method). There's lots of helpful little things in the 1Password in the browser extension which can help as you fill your way through the internet, but if you want to wait until this feature is more widely released that's understandable.

If you have any questions, please feel free to reach out.

• sc181
    sc181
    Community Member

@nikmolnar I agree - renaming 1Password X and making it the default makes no sense until it can do what the "Classic" extension does, aka touch id.

• ag_yaron
    ag_yaron
    1Password Alumni

Thanks for chiming in @sc181 :+1:

• netcam
    netcam
    Community Member