Sharing individual items

skatch
skatch
Community Member

I have a 1Password family subscription, and over time as more family members have joined, I've found that shared vaults don't handle my sharing needs very elegantly. I'm sure this has come up on these forums before, but I couldn't find discussions after a bit of searching, so here goes:

Vaults are great for long term sharing needs. E.g. my partner and I have a couple shared vaults for joint accounts and credentials we both need access to.

But I'm not going to have vaults for every permutation of family member, so this isn't great when I need to quickly share an item with someone I don't have a vault with. E.g. if I need to give my credit card details to my brother so he can buy something on my behalf, I can:

• Create a vault that just he and I have access to
  • Or, move my credit card details to the general Shared vault that everyone in the account has access to

The first option involves too much overhead. I have to name it, set up access, and move the item. Then I have to move it back to my private vault when he's done, and probably delete the vault too. The second option isn't ideal for obvious reasons.

What I really want to do is grant him access to an individual item in one of my vaults, and revoke it at some later point.

It quickly gets more complicated the more family members are involved. Let's say I have a login in the vault I share with my partner. If I need to share it with another family member, I'd either have to move it to the general Shared vault, temporarily revoke my partner's access so I can move it to a vault I'm sharing with just that family member, or create a vault shared by the 3 of us for just that one item.

In short: sharing individual items would be useful, in addition to vaults.

I'm aware that what I'm asking would probably involve a lot of hard, fundamental changes to the product. But I figured I'd put this out there in case others have the same need.

Comments