Handling 1Password in online payment forms

pixycz
pixycz
Community Member
edited June 2021 in 1Password in the Browser

I'm a web developer, I work on a major payment gateway frontend. We need to dynamicaly manipulate the CC inputs to create a smart multi-purpose control. The 1Password extension behavior is out of our control though, and it manipulates the DOM concurently with our javascript with strange results. I.e this situation can happen very easily:

Addtionally, there are problems with duplicate autocomplete dropdown menus on inputs. If 1Password is set to be the "default pwd manager", it solves problems with concurent Chrome autocomplete or Safari keychain. But it's not set like this for every user and we have no idea how to handle these multiple dropdowns.

The picture above shows an open 1Password dropdown menu overlayed by a keychain autocomplete in Safari

Do you have guidelines or a kind of "best practices" for web developers how to handle HTML/DOM if the new 1Password extension is used on the client? How to avoid these misplaced icons and duplicate autocomplete menus?

1Password Version: 7.8.5
Extension Version: 2.0.2
OS Version: 11.3.1
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• Hello @pixycz,

To assist you better, can you please send me an HTML sample of the card number input field? I will do some tests and get back with what I find.

Regarding Safari's built-in password manager overlaps 1Password, you can follow the steps here to turn off Safari browser's built-in password manager.

When this issue occurs on Chrome, it means that we have a website saved in the browser. To prevent it from happening, we can use these steps to remove all saved passwords in Chrome.

Go here > scroll down to "Show, edit, delete, or export saved passwords" section and follow the steps there to remove all saved passwords in Chrome. Please ensure that all passwords saved in Chrome migrated to 1Password first before removing them from your browser.

• pixycz
    pixycz