Migrating from my 2015 iMac to 2021 M1 iMac

Options
hawk713
hawk713
Community Member

I have both my old and new iMac connected to the internet and on my desk. Did not want to use Apple Migration instead did a completely new restart. The Apple App Store has many choices for apps related to 1P. Which choice should I make? After twoa weeks of M1 iMac operation, plan to erase everything from my old iMac and ship it back to Apple. Any additional information is helpful. I went to

I have an annual subscription which expires Spring of 2022.

1Password Version: 1Password 7 Version 7.8.6 (70806001) 1Password Sto
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: OS 11.4
Sync Type: iCloud

Comments

• hawk713
    hawk713
    Community Member
    Options

After waiting one day, I was able to download the 1Password app and login on my new M1 iMac. Works fine but I am unable to make the Safari helper app work. I now have two 1P icons in the dock. The first opens 1P and I am able to view my vault and use it to open web sites in Safari. Great result. Love 1Password.

My remaining problem, 1P helper app has been downloaded from the Apple App Store but will not install into any browser. I have selected all browsers in Safari extensions. I am being asked to enter my master password whenever I try to login a second time on the M1 iMac. Even with a very careful entry of this password it is never accepted. Must I do something the first time in a day to tell the 1Password app that this is not a public computer?

At this moment I have two iMac computers sitting on my desktop. Both are connected to the internet. I would like to get rid of the older one and eliminate two Keyboards from my office.

Thanks for supporting the best password manager ever!

• ag_ana
    ag_ana
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @hawk713!

I now have two 1P icons in the dock.

Can you please post a screenshot of these two icons?

I have selected all browsers in Safari extensions.