How does anyone use the new browser plugin? It's making us look for a new password manager.

I've been using 1Password for a few years now, but I (and my whole family) have been using the classic browser extension which integrates with the 1Password desktop application. The classic extension was great and did everything I needed it to. However I just reinstalled my browsers and had to reinstall the 1Password extension, and found that the Classic plugin looks to be on the way out, replaced by the terrible renamed 1PasswordX "updated" plugin.

I've been using the new version of the browser extension for a few days now and.. How does anyone use this? It's an eyesore, ugly, huge, unnecessarily bubbly taking up space with no way to disable or convert back to a "compact" or professional visual style. The looks aren't even the worst part.

It doesn't adhere to an entry's "hide in list" option, it has crashed on login multiple times for me already, it lacks useful features or hides them in unnecessarily convoluted workflows (like "view all credit cards" now hidden under a menu, or "Generate Password" hidden in the "New" page), It tries really hard to force the "Autofill" workflow on you, and only a very small number of entries and fields are visible at any time because the ugly new theme is huge.

This new version, which seems to be the default going forward, is unwieldy and a major step backwards from the functionality and usability of the classic plugin. Yes I know I can download the classic version, but for how long? Also, it isn't officially supported by any browser extension stores (Firefox extension, Chrome web store, etc) and with my family members not being very tech savvy they don't even know there's another option when they go to install it.

We're currently testing out other password managers because after a few days of using this, it's already driving me mad.

1Password Version: 7.7.810
Extension Version: 2.0.5
OS Version: Windows 10
Sync Type: Not Provided