Mass Update Logins/Passwords

khaosspawn
khaosspawn
Community Member
edited August 2021 in CLI

Hi There - I have the use case were I have multiple demo/sample accounts to log into a system. eg. dave, vicki, john - and all these accounts have the same password which is changed every few days.

Is there any way I can bulk update all the passwords in 1Password for these logins?

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided

Comments

• ag_ana
    ag_ana
    1Password Alumni

Hi @khaosspawn!

You cannot do this directly in the 1Password apps I am afraid. You could however perhaps be able to do it with the CLI:

Use the 1Password command-line tool

Especially if the passwords change every few days, you might be able to automate this. I am not a developer, but if you have any specific questions I can ask some team members :+1:

• khaosspawn
    khaosspawn
    Community Member

If you could perhaps supply some examples on how to go about this - that would be very helpful. I didn't know there was a CLI.

• ag_ana
    ag_ana
    1Password Alumni

@khaosspawn:

Sure, I have moved the discussion to the CLI section of the forum, and I have reached out to the team to see if they have any examples :+1:

• khaosspawn
    khaosspawn
    Community Member

Thanks @ag_ana! Will be very helpful to review some examples. I'm guessing I'd need to put all the affected items into a specific vault or add a tag.

• ag_ana
    ag_ana
    1Password Alumni

@khaosspawn:

The team suggested I share with you this section of the documentation:

edit item

I'm guessing I'd need to put all the affected items into a specific vault or add a tag.

Adding a tag sounds like a good way to mark all of the items you want to update, since you also can filter based on that using the --tags tags option:

list items

• khaosspawn
    khaosspawn
    Community Member