Electron

Comments

• blankspace
    blankspace
    Community Member
    edited August 2021

I'm a developer so I have usually 2-3 browsers open. Look at the thread and ram usage of the beta ... Here I was upset about them removing local vaults. This is awful.

Edit more issues with the electron app

• Because it's an Electron app, I'm unable to use 1password on two desktops. Activating the quick menu jumps you to the space the Electron Renderer is on.
    • I am unable to tab down menu's
    • Touch ID doesn't automatically activate when opening 1password.
    • No local vaults
    • No icloud syncing
  • gussic
    gussic
    Community Member

I’m finding the same issues with the menus being unable to exit the bounds of the App. Also having the same issues regarding TouchID not automatically activating.

• henrys
    henrys
    Community Member

I echo everyone else's thoughts here. It's not one single problem, but the huge breadth of paper-cuts you feel when using a non-native app. A single window, dropdown being cut off, spell check not working etc. This isn't just about a few megabytes of ram being wasted, this is abandoning some of the original principals that 1Password was clearly originally founded on.

I was forced to use LastPass by my old employer, and all those same complaints I had will now be true of 1Password. A sad day indeed.

I won't be renewing my subscription, and will be leaving completely when version 7 of the app stops working.

• ingorenner
    ingorenner
    Community Member

Say NO to Electron apps

• doetraar
    doetraar
    Community Member
    edited August 2021

There's another issue here. Dave clearly states in "https://blog.1password.com/1password-8-for-mac-is-now-in-early-access/" that: "Our new 1Password apps are built in Rust, a secure systems programming language famous for its performance and safety. 🦀" -- and stating it this way makes 1Password (and Dave) appear, at the very least, disingenuous.