Catalyst: why not?

Just a curiosity, why not to develop a Catalyst app for macOS users using code from iOS app? I’m not a developer so I might be wrong, but UI and UX would be a lot more like a native macOS app and resource usage should be way lower than electron. I think Dashlane moved in that direction…

Comments

• StevenBedrick
    StevenBedrick
    Community Member

That's a really good question! Given a choice between a Catalyst app and Electron, Catalyst gets things about a million percent closer to being a "proper" Mac UI experience.

• FCNV
    FCNV
    Community Member

I think there are probably two reasons:

1. It still requires them to fork off a separate development for desktop apps, when they want to just have one.
    2. I don't think Catalyst is going to be a thing. Apple didn't even mention it in their last WWDC keynote. It seems like something that never took off.
  • giopiar
    giopiar
    Community Member

I don’t agree with point 2: many stock apps in Monterey have been substituted with catalyst counterpart and Apple developed new APIs for macOS 12: https://developer.apple.com/mac-catalyst/

• StevenBedrick
    StevenBedrick
    Community Member

Well, they've already got a bunch of platform-specific stuff going on for their Mac desktop build: see, for example, all of the discussion about the Swift code in the back-end, as well as whatever extensive customizations they are doing in order to make the current Electron-based UI as sorta-Mac-like as they've thus far managed to make it. So the "write once, run anywhere" horse has already left the barn.

Point #2 is more compelling, to me, but who even knows what Apple's platform strategy is. Enough of the built-in OSX apps are built using Catalyst that it doesn't seem like it'll be going anywhere in the immediate future...

• roustem
    edited August 2021