Sidebar should be hideable for personal/family users

Now that categories have become a drop down, the sidebar is full of information which is irrelevant.

• I only have 1 Account - so don't need to change.
  • I only have 3 Vaults - 1 Private, 1 Shared with Family, 1 Shared with Spouse
  • I don't use tags as they help nothing.

If you are not part of a business 1-Password team consider not having the sidebar, or back to using the categories, or allowing it to be hidden, minimised to nothing.

The personal version allowed you to break into businesses as so many of us recommended it, but when business-focussed software is used by non-business people it typically doesn't work for us. v8 for the Mac has crossed that line.

In your design sessions please make sure you have a Persona of the techie supporting the family.

I have a 1 Password Family Subscription, shared with my Parents, a child, my spouse and a step-child. the other 4 children and step children use the built in on either Google or Apple depending on their ecosystem preference. Pivoting to business users makes sense, leaving the personal users behind doesn't.

1Password Version: 8.2.2-6.BETA
Extension Version: 2.0.6
OS Version: macOS 11.5

Comments

• alexclst
    alexclst
    Community Member

I use many vaults, though am a Families subscriber as well, and a number of tags, but would still want the ability to hide the sidebar. I've just gotten used to using the Search enough that the sidebar seems a bit redundant and just takes up extra screen real estate. There already is a control to change the sidebar size, I'd love to see the ability to hide it completely with this.

• PeterG_1P
    edited August 2021