I do not have a secret code

freckrosh
freckrosh
Community Member

I've been using 1Password for 8+ years and have recently changed computers (old MacBook Pro to a new one). I can log in to my 1Password account no problem, I also have it on my iPhone and they are synced. The issue is with the Chrome extension. When I try to activate it on the new computer 1Password is asking for a "secret code". When I try to get one, 1Password asks for my secret code to access my account. I just want 1PW extension on Chrome. I have it in Firefox, but not Chrome. Please help.

BTW - I've had 1PW for so long I got it before you started charging a monthly fee. I think that may be the issue but I certainly do not want to pay for something I've been getting for free for years.

1Password Version: version 6.8.9
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Mac OS 11.5.2
Referrer: forum-search:I do not have a secret code

Comments

• @freckrosh

If you are not paying a monthly fee then you would not have a Secret Key. That is one part of our membership offering. It sounds like you will want to use the classic extension.

1Password 6 has been retired and hasn't received updates in over 2 years. As a security focused company we'd always recommend running the latest versions of all of your software, but especially your operating system, web browser(s), and 1Password. I would suggest to looking at one of our membership offerings. I'd also recommend reaching out to our team at support+tradein@1password.com to discuss your situation and the best path forward.

Get the 1Password classic extension

• freckrosh
    freckrosh
    Community Member

Thank you for the classic extension. This was all I needed. I'll look into upgrading my version, but not sure I want to pay for what has always been free.

• ag_ana
    ag_ana
    1Password Alumni

On behalf of Tommy, you are welcome @freckrosh! If you have any other questions, please feel free to reach out anytime.

Have a wonderful day :)

• danco