1Password for Safari - Permissions

Options

Hi, took the plunge last night with beta 8 on my Mac so opted for 1Password for Safari 2.1.0. My question relates to the significant security warnings that Apple are throwing my way, especially about reading webpages, altering webpages I visit and having access to all my history. I know I trust the vaults with a lot of personal data but cannot help but wonder if this is a step too far.

I have no other experience of Safari extensions, 1Password is the only one I use. Can all other browser extensions read all browser data in the same way or is this unique to 1Password? Does 1Password for Safari have any additional access to the extension that was bundled with v7?

I am sure you will assure me that 1Password for Safari is safe and secure but I'd be grateful if you could point me towards information where I can read about this further.

Thank you for your help.

_Incidentally and completely unrelated I did try search the community for similar posts but the search engine just would not return any results even when searching for key words like Safari which I could see in the titles of some of the posts :( _

1Password Version: 8.2.2
Extension Version: 2.1.0
OS Version: macOS 10.15.7

Comments

• ag_yaron
    ag_yaron
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hey @iwaddo ,
    Great questions!

The permissions description that are given by the browser(s) is very general and vague, and I can definitely understand why you find it threatening.
    Although our permissions article is a tad outdated (it lists the permissions for the 1Password 7 extension in Safari), it is still relevant here: https://support.1password.com/browser-permissions/

You'll want to look at Firefox/Chrome/Edge/Brave's permissions there as they are more relevant to the new extension's permissions in Safari.