To protect your privacy: email us with billing or account questions instead of posting here.

Lifetime cost of 1Password

[Deleted User]
[Deleted User]
Community Member
edited October 2021 in Memberships

I'm currently a standalone license user, and with the upcoming changes in 1Password 8, specifically in it dropping support for standalone licenses, I have been looking at potentially switching to a subscription. However, I did some quick math, and was really dismayed by how much 1Password would end up costing over its lifetime.

I have been using 1Password for close to 10 years, and over those 10 years I have purchased a number of upgrades. I would say I have probably spent $200 or so on 1Password over these past 10 years for myself and my significant other. However, if I switch to a monthly subscription, my costs will sky rocket. Currently, a family membership license is $5/month. If we extrapolate that over the next 10 years, it will cost me $600 to continue to use 1Password! And that assumes AgileBits never raises the price of their subscription.

Even more jaw dropping/eye opening is if we extrapolate this out over my lifetime. I am currently in my late 30 years. Let's say I (and my partner) continue to use 1Password for the next 40 years (hopefully that's a conservative estimate ;) ), the lifetime cost comes to $2400! And again, that assumes AgileBits never raises its prices.

I'm honestly wondering how the developers can justify this? I know AgileBits needs to maintain its servers, pay its staff, and continually update their software to fix bugs and add features, but $2400 over a lifetime for a password manager seems completely absurd to me.

1Password Version: 7.8
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: macOS 11

Comments

• ag_ana
    ag_ana
    1Password Alumni

Hi @Ragnorok!