To protect your privacy: email us with billing or account questions instead of posting here.

Subscription vs Non-Subscription

Jace
Jace
Community Member

I have been using 1Password non-subscription since 2008.
I am very happy with it.
My question is this... Is there any reason I should switch to subscription? What would I gain, what would I lose?
I apologize if this question has already been asked.

1Password Version: 7.9
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: macOS 11.6

Comments

• ag_ana
    ag_ana
    1Password Alumni

Hi @Jace!

My question is this... Is there any reason I should switch to subscription? What would I gain, what would I lose?

The subscription option has a lot of additional features that you don't get with a standalone license:

About 1Password membership

In addition to this, the Membership option (which is paid with a subscription) will be the only one moving forward, as we do not offer standalone licenses anymore. So a subscription will be the only option to keep getting the future app updates.

• Jace
    Jace
    Community Member

Thank you for your response.

The subscription option has a lot of additional features that you don't get with a standalone license

People keep saying that and I keep asking what? I have yet to get an answer.
    Saying "a lot of additional features" doesn't tell me anything.

I have looked at the page you linked above many times - I still see no advantages, only disadvantages, which is why I keep asking.

The page says "Keep your data close to home" because you get to select what country your passwords are stored in??
    Currently my passwords are stored on my computer in my house. Storing them in another country (or the US) is not close to home, it's much farther from home.

Says automatic backups, I have automatic backups at home.
    Says "Protect your data at every border crossing" - I never travel.