Let's talk about the type of person that purchased 1Password a few short years ago.

Options
cmonman
cmonman
Community Member

Hi my name is Chris and I am a technology guy.

In this context it means that I am a tech contractor that has to work with Macs, Linux, and Windows, I also own an iPhone.

Like any good technology guy I have way too many passwords to way too many systems, very often I will work at a company on contract and amass 10 passwords for no good reason.

That said, when I was looking for a password manager 1password was a choice amongst a pretty sparse field, with lastpass being the only real competitor for my use case.

1 rejected last pass for 1 simple reason. I did not want my password database in the cloud, yes we know that the cloud can be incredibly secure but we also know that the cloud very often is not secure, whether its because of poorly patched servers or rogue employees is irrelevant.

Why would a hacker was his time trying to hack my phone, and get access to the -$35 dollars in my checking account, when he can attack lastpass download a database of millions of passwords and spend his sweet time parsing through the good stuff.

No my password needed to be locally secured, and even if it was on a cloud server not stored alongside a bunch of other morons password files with a giant neon sign saying PASSWORDS HERE.

Yes I know I am oversimplifying but you get the general gist.

Fast forward to 2021, Facebook has transformed to Meta and in the soon to be data apocalypse even apple finally caved and have brought their password manager to some semblance of modernity. Look! it even has an MFA option like google did five years ago.

1password is the only password manager (that a real person would use) that still offers local storage, and yet every single time I open it.
it spams me to create a 1Password account, ironically this spamming got me register a community account to bitch and moan but that isn't the point here.