To protect your privacy: email us with billing or account questions instead of posting here.

Why does getting a membership feel like a downgrade?

Options
fabianfabian
fabianfabian
Community Member

I have been using 1Password for 8 years. I decided to get a membership because I did not want to use Dropbox anymore to sync between all my devices.

But instead of just a sync upgrade I got confronted with these downgrades:

1) Entering Master Password in the browser
I consider my browser insecure but in order to get a membership I had to enter my master password in the browser. Entering a password in a browser is always worse than not having to your password in the browser no matter how secure your sign up page is. This is a downgrade.

2) Where are my local back-ups?
Every few months I used to make a local back-up on a usb stick to keep in a different location. After switching to membership I no longer have this option. I can no longer have my own back-ups and I am now forced to rely on 1Password for back-ups? This is a downgrade.

I used to consider 1Password incredibly secure because of the way it mitigated against several attacks. If my Dropbox got compromised it doesn't matter because my vaults are encrypted with a master password. If 1Password servers got compromised, it doesn't matter because everything runs locally and does not rely on 1Password servers.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided

Comments

• Ben
    Options

Hi @fabianfabian

I appreciate your concerns. I'd be happy to try and explain.

1) Entering Master Password in the browser