Asking for master password every 2 weeks on every machine is too much

chrissshe
chrissshe
Community Member
edited December 2021 in Lounge

I have 2 macbooks (one from work and one personal) and 1 PC. All 3 devices require me typing the master password at least every 2 weeks. On top of that, it's occasionally required on my phone as well. It's too much friction for using such a basic tool. I don't think there is anything we can do about it in Preferences. But in case I was wrong you can ignore the rest of the post.

I got my 1password subscription from my work. My wife loves it and uses it everyday. And I should say I love the concept as well. I tried to use it two period of times. But the frequency it requires master password is just too annoying.

I've read several similar posts from the past. The dev have made it clear that they do not intend to change this behavior. So this post is mainly just voicing my frustration. https://1password.community/discussion/108258/requirement-for-re-enter-master-password-every-2-weeks

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Referrer: forum-search:require master password

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User]
    Community Member

@chrissshe The master password is the main thing protecting your password vault from an attacker with access to your devices. It is used to generate the encryption key which protects your data. I guess you're required to enter it every 2 weeks to reduce the risk of forgetting it.

If its too much to enter it every 2 weeks then that suggests you've chosen something difficult to type/remember. If its a randomly generated password then you may find a passphrase easier to type/remember.

Your secret key protects against remote attackers probing 1Password servers. So your master password only needs to be 16-20 characters if using non-dictionary words or a bit longer if using dictionary words.

• chrissshe
    chrissshe
    Community Member