SSH Certificates Synchronization

I am looking to sync my SSH Certificates across the different servers in my home lab using 1Password Secrets. Is this something that is supported and or recommended?

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided

Comments

• Hey @johngalt2 -

You could certainly use an instance of Connect to do that. Your servers will need to pull from the Connect API, however. We don't expose the sync mechanism used to copy your encrypted secrets from 1Password to your Connect deployments.

If you provide more details about your use case I can offer some potential solutions :smile:

• johngalt2
    johngalt2
    Community Member
    edited December 2021

Hi @David_ag,

Thanks for replying. As you can probably tell I am new to 1Password Secrets. I don't want this to be an XY problem, so please tell me if I am trying to make a round peg fit in a square peg. I can either abandon my goal or perhaps there is a better way to do this. I would still like to come up with an excuse to use it, but perhaps that is storing all of my credentials for my docker containers that are right now in a env file.

I have about 5 servers (Rasbperry Pi, NASes etc.) in my homelab that I login to via SSH. Right now they all have separate passwords that I store in 1Password and I copy and paste the password into the shell. This is especially annoying when I need to re-enter the password when I am using sudo frequently. It would be great if I can login securely _and _conveniently. It seems that ssh certificates allow for this, but copying certs between all the servers manually and maintaining these seems annoying. It is just me that is logging in so I don't need to worry about sharing secrets and passwords among multiple users.

Thanks!