1PW + 2FA - Recovery Codes/Configuration?

lyons238
lyons238
Community Member

Hello,

I've been using 1PW for 2-3 years now and I absolutely love it. However, I realized recently I have not been keeping up with storing my Recovery Codes for 2FA. Which got me thinking...

1. Is it bad practice to store Recovery Codes in 1PW as if someone got into my 1PW then they could easily get into my accounts with the PW and 2FA Recovery Codes right there, right? Or am I missing something? Conversely, I was thinking to just store them on a secured thumb drive. Any tips are appreciated!

2. Also, I had another quick Q, can I access my 2FA recovery codes on Authy or do I get them from the individual website/account? Also, if I've used Google Authenticator in the past, is it wise to delete accounts I'm not using on there anymore due to Authy? I don't believe I ever cleared them out when I switched from Google Authenticator to Authy.

Any tips are appreciated!

1Password Version: 7.9.2
Extension Version: 7.9.2
OS Version: macOS Big Sur 11.6

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User]
    Community Member

@lyons238 Are you planning to move your 2FA tokens into 1Password? Or will you be keeping them in Authy?

1. Some would say that 2FA & recovery codes must be stored separately from passwords. However, the main point of 2FA/recovery codes is that they are stored on your trusted devices and remotely from the relevant website. So 1Password is a good place to store them.
    2. You cannot extract 2FA tokens or recovery codes from Authy. So you'll need to re-visit each individual website. This is a good idea anyway because they may have changed when you moved from Google Authenticator to Authy.
    3. I would double check that all your 2FA tokens are in Authy, that you are able to login to each website in a private window using Authy and then delete all your 2FA tokens from Google Authenticator.