1Password always asks for master password when "Require Master Password" is not set to "Never"

psai_clux_bauh
psai_clux_bauh
Community Member

Hi,

I'm new to 1Password, coming from KeePass, but wanted a more robust sync solution than managing my password database myself. So far I'm very impressed. 1Password seems to be both very functional as well as good looking :smile:

I have a OnePlus 5T on which I've also installed the 1Password app. I've enabled "Fingerprint Unluck" and set "Automaticall lock" to "After 10 minutes". Using those setting while the "Require Master Password" setting is set to "Never" I can unlock my phone using my fingerprint reader - nice.
I would like to add a little extra security by requiring the master password every other day. But no matter what setting I set for the "Require Master Password" setting I get prompted to enter the master password every single time. That's too inconvenient.

I might be understanding the feature incorrectly, so correct me if I'm wrong - but I suspected it to work as a "You're required to enter the master password every other day. So after entering the master password you will not be asked for it again for two days and can use biometrics to unlock as you please".

Thanks in advance.

1Password Version: Version 7.9
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Android 9

Comments

• psai_clux_bauh
    psai_clux_bauh
    Community Member

bump

• Hi @psai_clux_bauh. Your understanding is correct, and you should be able to unlock with biometry most of the time, while you'll only need your Master Password when the keys get removed from the Android Keystore. If you're not being prompted for your fingerprint after setting up biometric unlock, it sounds like it may be malfunctioning.

I'd like to ask you to create a diagnostics report from your Android device:

Sending Diagnostics Reports (Android)

Attach the diagnostics to an email message addressed to support+forum@1password.com.

With your email please include: