Disabling 1Password X for specific fields/forms (web developer question)

13»

Comments

• jessie_vp
    jessie_vp
    Community Member

Ok will do :)

• ag_yaron
    ag_yaron
    1Password Alumni

:+1:

• ben_walsh
    ben_walsh
    Community Member

I have an input field with autocomplete set to a UUID (to work around Chrome's insistence on autocompleting things set to autocomplete="off"), autofill set to "off", and the 1Password interface still appears and shows its suggestions, overlaying the UI that I have implemented on the field. It's massively annoying and feels a bit hostile -- as a developer I have made the intention very clear that I don't want the field interfered with, but I am being overruled.

• @ben_walsh

As Yaron mentioned in his post here, if the field contains key words like "username", "password", or "email" then you might still see the inline menu. Coding a field as autocomplete="off" will essentially force the inline menu to be minimized, but the icon is still visible. If you'd like to have 1Password ignore the field entirely, you can change the HTML attributes to contain search somewhere in the HTML id or name as suggested in my post here.

Let me know if that helps?

• osioke
    osioke
    Community Member

Hello @ag_yaron and @ag_jarek, just following up on the issue mentioned in this topic here, here and here with certain fields on Discourse, it has mostly been fine, but it seems it has regressed a bit for some fields in Discourse:

Any ideas what we can do to resolve this?

• ag_yaron
    ag_yaron
    1Password Alumni

Hey @osioke ,
    We looked into the recent code changes and there doesn't seem to be any regression here.

We still respect the autofill="off" attribute when no password fields are present on the page, so that should still work. Here's a test page to demonstrate it: https://fill.scet.ch/username_like.html