Security Advise

Options
robert1p
robert1p
Community Member

I'm new to 1password and looking to the community for their advise on best security practices in using the product. [I'm purchased the Family Plan and will set up others members soon.]

• I safely stored my Emergency Kit.
  • I'll be looking into the YubiKey.
  • I removed my master password from the "1Password Account" entry within the vault.
  • I've updated all my accounts with new 20 character random passwords.
  • For my most secure accounts (e.g. finances), I append extra chars (not stored in 1password) before logging in.
  • I use 2FA on all possible accounts.
  • On the email account I use for password recover, I have a very secure password (committed to memory), plus 2FA.
  • I plan to update all my security questions on my accounts with "memorable passwords" (adding them as a "Security Question" field in 1password).
  • I use a short timeout for locking my 1password app.
  • I am not interested in discussions regarding other family organizers.

What else should I consider?

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided

Comments

• danco
    danco
    Volunteer Moderator
    Options

Especially as you are the only family organiser, consider what happens if you suffer a major injury, stroke, or whatever. Having a password committed ONLY to memory runs a major risk.

I'm not going to suggest what action you should take, but do plan for disaster.

• Tertius3
    Tertius3
    Community Member
    edited January 2022
    Options

Plan for recovery if you lose your Yubikey device, if you lose your 2fa authenticator device, if you lose your smartphone, if your PC/Laptop is destroyed. Make sure you will not get locked out from 1Password.