To protect your privacy: email us with billing or account questions instead of posting here.

Secondary Email Address as Backup?

Question - Is it possible to have a secondary email as a backup?

Details - My current 1Password subscription is associated with the email address I used to sign up. I'm not 100% familiar with the recovery process as it pertains to email (I don't think there IS a full recovery option, far as I can tell, for security reasons), but I DO know that I'll get emails from time to time regarding sign ins from new devices, and stuff of that nature. I haven't ever gotten locked out of my email, but with something as important as a password manager, I don't want to take a chance, especially if I have access to everything BUT the email address. Is there an ability, or maybe something in the works, to add a secondary or backup email to our accounts?

Thanks!

Comments

• Hey @BlockchainAppliance:

You've touched on a few key points here, so I'd like to dig into each of them a bit:

• Account recovery would depend on the specific account type you're using. With an individual account, there is no recovery that can be done whatsoever. If you lose access to your account password and Secret Key, we're unable to reset it or help you regain access to your account. If you're a part of a family, team or business account however, a family organizer (for a family account), or a team owner/admin would be able to recover your 1Password account.
    • Once you've verified your email address, logging into your 1Password account doesn't require access to that email. For example, if your email provider were to suddenly go defunct without warning, you would be able to use the email address on your account, your account password, and your Secret Key to sign into your 1Password account and change your registered email address to a new working email, without needing to be able to receive email on that now defunct address.