Multiple questions after switching to a membership plan

Options
pk2023
pk2023
Community Member

I'm finally getting around to asking these questions. It's mainly to make sure I'm doing things right.

• I have been using a Family plan for at least 2 years.
  • I used to have a standalone vault before getting the Family plan.

Everything is working properly as far as I can tell but I want to confirm a few things.

• The 1Password app on my Mac is from the Mac App Store. Is that the place I should be getting it from or should I be getting it from the 1Password.com site? (I don't even know if I can get it from the 1Password.com site.)

• I have files stored on Dropbox (which I just pulled down). I think this is where I stored my standalone vault. The timestamp on the files are from 2019. I'm assuming this confirms this is my standalone vault which is not being used anymore and that I can now delete these files since I'm using a Family membership plan.

• Where are my files stored now? From the support documentation, it says that my files are backed up so if something goes wrong, my files can be retrieved. Is this correct?

Thanks,

Paul

1Password Version: 7.9.3
Extension Version: 7.9.3
OS Version: MacOS 11.6.5

Comments

• @paulkondo

Welcome aboard the membership express.

You can use the version from the Mac App Store or directly download it from us. Either one will work just fine. If you wish to switch to the direct download, this link will help with that.

🔀 How to install the 1Password app from 1Password.com after installing it from the Mac App Store

If all of your data is available in your membership, you can remove the file. I am a big hold onto things for a bit sort of guy. I typically go with a six-month to 1 year wait period before I totally remove the files. But again, I would highly encourage you to make sure they are available in your membership.