Account versus Login managemetn

Options
pmallonee
pmallonee
Community Member

I've been searching through the forum and I can find pieces of this but not the whole picture.

I am new to 1Password so I'm just beginning my databasing. I'm having trouble where the same account is referenced in multiple ways.

1) At work we have lots of servers that authenticate against a backend database. The default behavior for 1Password seems to be to store a separate username/password/URL entry for each one. This works at a small scale but when password rotation time comes it's going to be a problem.

2) The same account is detected by 1password in different ways. My phone sees "BofA" for the app while the web sees and makes an entry for bankofamerica.com.

I've seen other users with variations on that theme with different services authenticating against a common source (login with facebook or google for example)

My suggestion would be to build a new kind of vault item - the account. The account would have credentials, but would not have an associated "location". This would be the central reference.

Then on the login entries have the option to reference either an account or to build the current local username/password storage associated with the URL.

That would also mean the browser and tablet installations would need to offer the "accounts" for datafill. Currently when a new site is accessed the login box 1Password icon has "No items to show".

With this indirect reference when password rotations happen the user has to change the password in one spot (the account) instead of each and every "login" entry that has been created. This is not a case of re-using passwords as the password on the backend is one and only one.

If this kind of capability is already in 1Password I haven't found it and I would love direction to it. Judging by the questions in the forum there's a lot of people dancing around the same gap.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided