Vulnerabilities detected in GCP Scim deployment, how to best patch?

Options
AndrewKalat
AndrewKalat
Community Member

Good day,
We recently deployed 1Pass SCIM to our GCP environment, but our vulnerability management tool has flagged a number of high and critical vulnerabilities with the deployment. They primarily appear to be with the Google Container Optimized OS environment the SCIM is using. Example below.

My main question is what the appropriate process for remediating/patching these vulnerabilities? I am new to SCIM and GCP, so I'm a bit unsure of the right path forward. At first glance, it appears the container is tied to the main SCIM provision, and isn't independently upgraded. Anyway, the question is what is the best path forward to patch for these vulnerabilities? It appears the Container OS needs to be upgraded.

Example:
The machine running Container-Optimized OS version 89.16108.604.28 is vulnerable to CVE-2022-1292, which exists in versions >= 89.0.0.0, < 89.16108.659.14. The vulnerability affects the package openssl, which is installed by default on the Container-Optimized OS image.

The vulnerability was found in the Container-Optimized OS Release Notes with NVD severity: Critical.

The vulnerability can be remediated by updating the image version to 89.16108.659.14 or higher.
Name CVE-2022-1292
Severity Critical
Detailed Name openssl
Version 89.16108.604.28
Fixed Version 89.16108.659.14
Detection Method Operating System
Data Source Link cloud.google.com
Detected by Package openssl

Another example:
Description The package zlib1g version 1:1.2.11.dfsg-2 was detected in APT package manager on a container image running Debian 11.0 is vulnerable to CVE-2018-25032, which exists in versions < 1:1.2.11.dfsg-2+deb11u1.

The vulnerability was found in the Official Debian Security Advisories with vendor severity: High (NVD severity: High).