Memorable password generator: Random vs. non-random choice and entropy loss/gain

Options
gr1516
gr1516
Community Member

I searched for a discussion like this on here, but couldn't find one. When using the memorable password generator, do people tend to choose randomly or do they keep clicking the generate button until they get a password composed only of words they already know and feel comfortable with? If you choose non-randomly like this, how much entropy is lost? How much entropy is gained (if any) if you deliberately choose passwords that have many words you either flat out don't know or just don't like? I have zero password cracking experience, but I would think limiting my search space to the most commonly used words in the English language on the word list as opposed to the whole list would be a good strategy. How should I think about this?

1Password Version: 8.7.2
Extension Version: 2.3.5
OS Version: Not Provided
Browser:_ Not Provided

Comments

• Lars
    Lars
    1Password Alumni
    edited June 2022
    Options

@gr1516 - great questions! I can't say what people tend to do because we intentionally know nothing about the generation of your password(s); all that logic is kept client-side (in your 1Password app or browser). However, it would not surprise me to learn that there are indeed people who will "skip" a generated password if it contains words with which they're unfamiliar (on the theory that it would be easier to forget/misspell such words, perhaps).