Ethics of forced upgrades from Version 4

Options
hellimod
hellimod
Community Member
edited July 2022 in 1Password 4 for Windows

I have read all the developers comments about 1password 4. As a developer I completely disagree. Designed obsolescence is not your right. I am sorry I would never write software that implodes after a specific number of years. There is no reason to do that. New features and versions should stand on their own not to be dependent on a captured audience from the past. I am happy with 1Password 4 and have no interest in upgrading for various reasons which i will not discuss here. You should always make sure old versions at least have their basic functionality intact. It is an ethical imperative.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Browser:_ Not Provided

Comments

• Hi @hellimod:

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience here. 1Password is a security product, and as such, it requires updates to stay up to date with the ecosystem around it. While you're absolutely entitled to use the standalone license you've purchased for 1Password 4 for Windows for as long as you'd like, as operating systems and browsers change around 1Password 4, there is the definite possibility that updates to those operating systems or browsers introduce compatibility problems with 1Password 4.

Jack

• hellimod
    hellimod
    Community Member
    Options

I really don't want to be rude but the obtuse response is a challenge. Why would I trust an organization that is frequently hacked with my passwords. The best protection from intrusion is an organizational gap. Holding a database for all your customers passwords is a disaster waiting to happen. I just don't get how you can ethically say it is more secure.

• Ben
    Options

@hellimod