Update an existing record

Andrew42
Andrew42
Community Member

I think I must be living in a senior moment. I cannot work out how to update and existing record in 1P8. It used to be so simple in 1P7: Go to the site, Open but do not action the log in click the right button and save as a new login or update. Bingo - job done. I cannot work out how to do it either in Windows or on iPhone or iPad. What am I missing?

Why when I try to find a user guide for windows all i find is some sketchy document that doesn't cover even this most basic of actions.

Thank you for your help.

1Password Version: 8.9.5
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Win 10 Pro
Browser:_ Edge or whatever it is now called

Comments

• Reeze
    Reeze
    Community Member

Oh my good lord - I thought it's just me and I'm just too dumb to figure it out but i have the EXACT SAME problem..
    I am new to 1 password so I thought IT MUST BE ME...

• Reeze
    Reeze
    Community Member

Update:
    So I figured out that the mask will change to "update" from "save" IF there is already an existing Entry with a match for the URL.

Background: I came from keepass where I stored all cridentials WITHOUT the url. So I have about 180 entries without url. I was hope that when I login to any website for the first time, I can just "update" an existing entry which was imported from Keepass.... but that is just not possible as it stands.

• Hey folks, thanks for reaching out.

@Andrew42, do you happen to have the latest version of 1Password in your browser installed (web extension)? With the extension installed, you should be automatically prompted to update an existing record or save a new item. If you have the extension installed, I recommend checking out these two guides:

Let me know if that helps!