Best way to close 1P iPad app

Options
tomseeley
tomseeley
Community Member

I’m still learning. I can use the iOS app. But I’m not sure, once I’ve logged to my acct on the iPad, what’s the smarted way to quit. I can just exit the app and swipe up on the page of open apps but I’m not sure this closes stuff securely as far as 1P is concerned. If there’s a “log out” button on the iPad I haven’t found it yet.

Pls help. Thx.

Comments

• Hello @tomseeley! 👋

There's no need to quit the 1Password app or sign-out of your account. Instead, you can configure 1Password to lock automatically when you switch away to another app:

When 1Password is locked none of your items are accessible and only you can unlock 1Password using your account password or Touch ID / Face ID. I hope that helps! 🙂

-Dave

• tomseeley
    tomseeley
    Community Member
    Options

Dave_1P

Thank you for this. I've read the link on How to set 1Password to lock automatically and I have a couple follow up Q:

It says I can set auto lock in three versions of 1P: the extension, the apps, and on 1Password.com. I'm not a strong computer user and I want to be sure I understand these correctly.

I use a Windows desktop and I've pinned the 1P shortcut to my taskbar. I'm comfortable starting 1P that way. Does that mean that in that case I'm using 1Password.com?

I use Firefox as my browser. I have enabled the FF 1P extension and I've put it on the FF toolbar. I don't usually start 1P from that, but if I did, would I then be using 1P in the extension?

Finally, I also use an iPad. I've got the 1P iPad app on it for when I'm using the iPad not the desktop. I assume that means in that case I'd be using 1P in the 1Password apps.

Sorry to be borderline OCD, but all my life I've taken language literally, sometimes to a fault! I suspect that's what I'm doing here too. I hope you'll indulge me and either tell me I've got it or I need more help!

Thanks.

• @tomseeley

I'll come to each question separately: