Icon re-usage

solarizde
solarizde
Community Member

Hey,

I'm new to 1Password came here from somewhere else.
One thing which might bring in as a suggestion, the Icon Library. Why Can't I choose freely from the already available in app Icons for a new entry? And why I do have to upload a custom icon for every entry?

Example: I have 30x Routers of one Brand and for better visibility I would like to use the manufacturer Logo as Icon. I have the icon, no problem, but each entry now need to have this Icon uploaded and it is not shared.

Other Password Managers let you choose from your previous uploaded Icons for other Items so you can reuse them and not upload 16-32kb of Data extra again and again for each entry.

Thank you!

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Browser:_ Not Provided

Comments

• DenalB
    DenalB
    Community Member

Hi @solarizde and welcome!

I have the icon, no problem, but each entry now need to have this Icon uploaded and it is not shared.

That's correct. There is no pool of icons that you uploaded and where you can choose from. I switched all the icons from my 400+ entries manually. I have all icons in place, so I'm able to use them again if I need to do this for a new entry.

Often I duplicate an entry to get its icon, too. So I don't have to upload the icon again for an entry that uses the same vendor.

You are correct. This is a hard job after importing entries from another password manager. But if you are done, it looks and feels great. 😉

• solarizde
    solarizde
    Community Member

Sure but isn't it a ressource hog to have the same icons duplicated for each entry on and on? It would be so much better if you click a Entry Icon Edit and it will give you a overview of all currently existing Icons in the vault?