To protect your privacy: email us with billing or account questions instead of posting here.

Security concern(s) in 1Password after LastPass hack

Mattis
Mattis
Community Member

Dear community,

The recent attack on LastPass and the arguably successful stealing of LastPass vaults has attracted a lot of attention. Certainly also in the 1Password community.

I have been using 1Password for four years now with a 1Password family membership. At the time, the reason was a successful hack in my family that enabled identity theft with financial damage.

The LastPass security incident has me personally concerned and a bit unsure if storing passwords in password services is really a good idea. While 1Password has never had such an incident, what if this changes?

Of course, I know that everything is strongly encrypted. Additionally, a 128-bit strong secret key is required to decrypt the vaults. This is a good reason to choose 1Password, especially in this industry. But what if supercomputers can break the encryption?

Perhaps I am exaggerating a bit. Nevertheless, a queasy feeling remains.

My question now is whether 1Password will now integrate more security systems to make it even more secure? You always have to be one step ahead of criminals. How does 1Password ensure that something like with LastPass can never happen? Will 1Password change anything in its security strategy? Will the source code of the security architecture be published?

I still feel safe with 1Password, that hasn't changed, but these are thoughts that go through your head when you hear about the LastPass story.

Looking forward to answers

Mattis

1Password Version: 1Password 8
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: macOS Ventura 13.1
Browser:_ Safari/Firefox

Comments

• Tertius3
    Tertius3
    Community Member

But what if supercomputers can break the encryption?

Current supercomputers and the expected supercomputers of the next decades cannot break state of the art encryption.