The future of local/standalone vaults

Comments

• labguy88
    labguy88
    Community Member

@Lars -- thanks! That resolves my concern. I'm a longtime Lastpass user (AKA "victim") looking to make the switch, so I'm just learning about 1Password. Hence my fairly ignorant question. With your explanation about the cache, I'm not troubled by version 8's central cloud storage. That's just my personal take on this, not a criticism of others in this thread who think differently.

• JAC3467
    JAC3467
    Community Member

@Lars - thanks for your reply and taking the time. You of course are correct, anytime we do anything, there are multiple parties involved with varying levels of trust. Agreed fully. That said, there are varying levels of trust. Apple for example has a huge and highly-profitable business for lots of reason, one of which is its customer base trusts the company pretty well. I'm sure in no time at all we could name some tech companies we don't trust much.

I think my trust for 1PW is pretty high - it would have to be given the data I'm entrusting. These last few months digging through documents, forum posts, blog posts, etc., I've become more assured that you've architected and built a cloud-based password manager that's as secure as it can be. That said, if I were on 1PW8 and there was a LastPass-type breach - would I change a bunch of passwords? Probably, important ones at the very least. If you deprecate 7 and I upgrade to 8, as a hedging step, are there some credentials I would no longer store in 8, or would I store some login components elsewhere? Probably.