Newbie Questions - Import & Organization

Options
joelspitz
joelspitz
Community Member

Hello 1Password Community,

I'm a newbie 1password user and trying to wrap my hands around everything. 1. What is the best way to organize one's passwords that include a mix of websites, credit cards, bank account and other sensitive items like tax logins, etc. Should they all be placed into the Private vault or is it best to divide it up and have separate vaults for websites, credit cards and bank accounts? 2. As I currently keep everything in an Excel spreadsheet (I know, this isn't secure, hence why I'm transferring to 1Pass), what is the best way to import this information? I have several tabs and tried saving them as CSV, but the import failed likely because my column headers don't match up with what 1pass has. How can I rename the column headers, so that they can be easily imported into 1pass?

I would GREATLY appreciate it if anyone can quickly respond to this.

Thank you in advance for your time and assistance with the above matters.

Joel

1Password Version: 8.9.12
Extension Version: 2.5.1
OS Version: Windows 10 Pro
Browser:_ Chrome

Comments

• MrC
    MrC
    Volunteer Moderator
    Options

@joelspitz

For now, import all your items and place them into your Private vault. If you are using a Family version of 1Password and need to share items, you can move them later to the Shared vault or some other of your choosing.

Regarding your CSV, the 1password.com CSV importer can import Logins, Credit Cards, and Secure Notes. You need to set the column label and row type for each item (it's quite tedious if you have many rows of data). This is all done via the web site importer.