Master password is in the vault

[Deleted User]
[Deleted User]
Community Member

I am new to 1password but I noticed when I created my account my master password is in the vault. I wouldn't think that would be safe. What is best practice here on this issue?

1Password Version: 8.9.12
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Windows 11
Browser:_ Firefox
Referrer: forum-search:Master password

Comments

• sethretig
    sethretig
    Community Member

Same question here.

• Tertius3
    Tertius3
    Community Member

It's as if you're keeping a spare physical key to a physical vault within the vault. It's for convenience, but no security risk, since everything in the vault is encrypted.

• Hello!

Each 1Password account comes with a starter item that contains both your account password and Secret Key. It's absolutely safe to store your account password and Secret Key in your Private vault in 1Password. No one can access your 1Password items without both your account password and Secret Key so they would need to know your account password/Secret Key to get to your account password/Secret Key. A good analogy here is to think of a physical safe: you can store a copy of the key to the physical safe inside of the safe and someone would need to already have a key in order to open the safe and get the copy of the key.

I hope that helps. 🙂

-Dave

• DickieD
    DickieD
    Community Member
    edited January 2023

...Except that because of the way 1Password works, there is no re-authentication required to show passwords.
    This means that if you forgot to lock your machine, someone can easily now view both your master password and secret key, without being asked to re authenticate.

Can I suggest that there is an option to request re authentication before displaying passwords.

• Tertius3
    Tertius3
    Community Member

This means that if you forgot to lock your machine, someone can easily ...