Newbie: wanting to store items in a vault that my headless server (Azure Runbooks) creates.

ezjurgen
ezjurgen
Community Member

Hi!

I am creating a runbook that will create some test accounts of a spin up test system and instead of storing them as credentials in Azure I want them to be saved in a 1P vault so the support techs can use them for troubleshooting customers problems.

I am new to this CLI and is see a lot of complex setups as 1P needs to protect stored passwords of course. But my requirements are a bit more modest. I would like to create a new account that only has rights to save a new item (usr/pwd/name) to a vault, it does not need rights to read an item.

So i guess security can be a bit lower and a biometric or userinteraction is not needed.

Would this be possible using powershell to save items headless without user interaction?

1Password Version: 2.1
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: azure runbooks/devops pipeline
Browser:_ Not Provided

Comments

• Hi @ezjurgen:

It isn't possible to use 1Password CLI to create write-only access, but it is possible to use 1Password Connect Server to do something like this. Let me know if this would work for you and I can explore further with you!

Jack

• ezjurgen
    ezjurgen
    Community Member

Hi Jack,

I am not really sure if the connect server is what I need. As we are using teamviewer/splashtop/vmware web console to login on customers servers we will not be able to connect to these systems with an API or whatever Connect Server might do to pass on these credentials. we just need to copy them from 1password and paste them in the login window. In vmware we do not even have the copy and paste options so thats a 'reveal and type over' kind a thing.