Setup verification codes

shhh
shhh
Community Member
edited February 2023 in iOS

On the latest iOS app, I see an option to setup 2FA authentication codes using 1Password, see screenshot.

How exactly is toss feature used?

I've been using Authy for several years, I was not aware that iOS even offered this option now. I realize this is an Authy question but I've chosen Authy currently but I don't see it kicking in, how does this work?

https://ibb.co/fr7yfzf

Comments

• Hello @shhh! πŸ‘‹

This is a new iOS feature that I believe we're started testing with the latest beta version of 1Password for iOS. It allows you to ingest TOTP seeds so that you can easily setup two-factor authentication for the apps that you use on your iPhone or iPad.

So, for example, if you try to setup two-factor authentication for an account via an iOS app on your iPhone, and 1Password is enabled for the "Setup Verification Codes Using..." feature, Password AutoFill should offer to save your one-time password in 1Password without you having to scan a QR code or save the secret manually.

I hope that helps! πŸ™‚

-Dave

• shhh
    shhh
    Community Member

@Dave_1P How can I take this for a spin? And I am guessing this works only on Safari browser on iOS? I use Firefox so I am out of luck?

• @shhh,

You should be able to use it with any site that produces an otpauth:// url for their 2FA enrollment.

• shhh
    shhh
    Community Member
    edited February 2023

@rudy

I went to a site and signed up for 2FA. Change iOS Settings > Password > Options to choose 1Password to generate verification codes. It produced the usual page with a QR code and the corresponding alphanumeric key and a text box to enter the generated TOTP code. The iOS Safari extension did not appear to recognize any of these elements. In contrast, the browser add-on Scan QR code feature is such a pleasant experience.

Am I missing something?

• rudy
    edited February 2023

@shhh,