To protect your privacy: email us with billing or account questions instead of posting here.

Passkey and the privacy implications

Options
darkmar
darkmar
Community Member
edited March 2023 in Memberships

I am a new user of 1password, and for the most parts, it seems to have the right goals concerning privacy and its design of being no knowledge. That is why the new passkey announcement seems weird, and I can't seem to understand the reasoning behind it.

I AM NOT A LAWYER This is just my understanding from research.

Using a passkey as the main way to unlock your 1password account makes the security of that device and how it handles those keys the entire, complete security of everything in your digital life. From a technical perspective, we are being asked that whatever phone manufacturer we are using has not made any errors in the implementation on the passkey. If there is a bug, they will update before an exploit. We know that this is a very tall ask, and the main reason is that we like the security key solution from 1password.

Besides Technical, there are the real world and legal. I have thought of a few cases where passkey would expose all the vaults.

1. Travel: there are customs where it is required to provide unlocked devices and biometric unlocking. 1password has travel mode for this reason, but if your phone is the passkey to the account, order agents can go to the website, unlock your full vault, and get every login.
  2. court orders: It is my understanding that passwords have been considered protected under the 5th amendment, but devices and biometrics are not and can be compelled ( https://www.lawfareblog.com/fifth-amendment-decryption-and-biometric-passcodes )

My main concern is that 1password has sold itself as users being able to control and protect our data securely from design, and using passkeys to login into 1passwords is a complete 180. Am I the only one feeling this?

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided