Use of multiple family accounts on same windows 11 machine using windows app and browser extension

Options
jacobh
jacobh
Community Member

I have a family subscription and both myself and my partner have separate accounts within/under the family account. Generally we do not share machines however would like to be able to sign into our own account when occasionally using each others machines. I have noticed this seems to be a bit of a hassle at the moment as there does not seem to be a way to add another account within the same family i.e it seems to be only one account per family can be active within the windows app at any one time.

When trying to add another account the app advises: "You can sign in to only one "family account name" at a time. You''ll need to sign out of "current account email" before you can sign into this account.

I don't know what the default behaviour for adding another account (that isn't a family account) is as I have none to test with but I will list my preference for this my use case:
When you add another family account to the same app it should be a selectable option saved so you don't have to log out of the currently used account (really annoying as the secret key has to be input every time). You could then select to switch over to that other account with just the password. My preference is that only one account is active at a time so the browser extension only autofills from one account. As I said I do not know current behaviour of multiple accounts but maybe multiple accounts active or one at a time could be an options available via settings.

Open to feedback if I am missing something. Is this already how non family accounts work? is it just functionality that does not work for family subscriptions...? If so consider this a request to bring family accounts to feature parity with non family accounts.

Cheers.