Accessing 1Password on a new device

Options

I am new to 1Password and have a question. Let's say I am on vacation and lose my iPhone. I don't have any other 1Password trusted devices available to me. I buy a new phone at my vacation location. When I install the 1Password app on the new phone I can't log into my account with just my 1Password master password because of the strict security. I can't log in 1Password.com using a web browser on the new phone for the same reason. The only way I can see to get into my 1Password account is with my Emergency Kit that I could potentially not have access to because of being on vacation. Please advise on how I can access my 1Password account under this circumstance.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Browser:_ Not Provided

Comments

• Joy_1P
    Joy_1P
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hey @luvboating, in a situation where you do not have another 1Password trusted device, have lost your phone, and do not have your Secret Key, I'm afraid the options would be severely limited. If you have a Families account, and another person was the owner, they could reset your account info for you. If you have an Individual account though, the only way to get access to your 1Password account again would be to get ahold of your Emergency Kit. Otherwise, you would have to wait until you're back home so that you have access to other 1Password trusted devices.

Please note that your Secret Key exists to protect your data. Though the situation above would put you in a tough spot, the situation in which someone finds your Account Password and is able to sign in to any device without your Secret Key can be worse.

We have an article about our security model, which can be found here: https://support.1password.com/1password-security/

Please take a look, and if you have any further questions, please let us know.

• luvboating
    luvboating
    Community Member
    Options