Keyboard shortcut Autofill no longer works in Firefox or Chrome

Options
MStyle
MStyle
Community Member
edited December 2022 in Windows

I have been using 1Password for many years now. One of the most convenient things about it in Windows has been the keyboard shortcut autofill. Just press Ctrl + \ and I’m logged in – I don’t even need to press Enter after the username and password have been autofilled.

A few months ago the keyboard shortcut autofill stopped working in Chrome. And now in Firefox, my primary browser, it isn’t working either. Now, every time I want to log in, I have to move the mouse to the login field, click in there (at which point the fields are autofilled) and then press Enter or click the Login button. Which is much less convenient than just hitting the autofill shortcut keys.

Since the Autofill option is still present in Settings I am assuming that it’s a bug. I tried changing the shortcut from Ctrl + \ to something else such as Ctrl + Shift + ] or Ctrl + Alt + / but it didn’t work.

I also tried disabling all other add-ons (extensions) except 1Password, restarted the browser, and tried the autofill shortcut - still not working.

To me, this is a major quality of use issue.

What else can I try? Can you replicate this issue on your end, and if so, any ETA on fixing it?

1Password Version: 8.9.10
Extension Version: 2.5.0
OS Version: Windows 10 Pro 22H2
Browser:_ Firefox 107.0.1 64-bit Chrome 108.0.5359.96 64-bit

Comments

• Hello @MStyle,

I'm sorry to hear of the troubles you've encountered. We appreciate you sending along this report. This is a known issue with Chrome, Brave and I've been able to reproduce with Firefox. I have no additional details to share at this time, but have passed your report along to the Development team.

ref: dev/core/core#18569

• jareha
    jareha
    Community Member
    Options

Experiencing this same issue in Firefox (desktop) 108.0.2 on macOS 13.1.