The Monthly Master Password Prompt

Options
ings
ings
Community Member
edited June 2023 in Windows

Hi,

I'm a big 1Password fan, I've been using it on multiple platforms for about 10 years. However I have one minor annoyance:

It's the monthly (30 days) request to re-enter the 1Password master password. Now once a month doesn't sound that unreasonable ... except I own an iPhone, an iPad, an iMac, a MacBook, and two virtual Windows desktops. So I get prompted six times to enter a very long and hard to type password. Ditto for my spouse, except she has fewer devices.

(Plus the **** prompt always seems to happen at the least convenient moment possible.)

I have no idea what could be done to mitigate this. However FYI it's annoying! :-)

Other than that, I remain a huge fan - keep up the great work!

Dave Ings

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Browser:_ Not Provided

Comments

• XIII
    XIII
    Community Member
    Options

You can set the option "Require password" to "Never" in Settings.

• ings
    ings
    Community Member
    edited June 2023
    Options

Hi @XIII

Indeed you can. Somehow I never noticed that! Thanks.

Will have to think about that ... somehow "never" strikes me as too far (too lax) in the other direction ... but it might make sense for (say) my virtual desktops.

• ings
    ings
    Community Member
    Options

P.S. The "Never" option is not available on Windows 11 for some reason.

• DavidB
    DavidB
    Community Member
    Options

a very long and hard to type password

Sorry if I am not understanding, but why not create what the password generator calls a "memorable password" that is easier to type?

David

• ings
    ings
    Community Member
    Options

Hi @DavidB

why not create what the password generator calls a "memorable password" that is easier to type?