What is the advantage of a Passkey over a password?

Options
gsetser
gsetser
Community Member

I don't understand the advantage of using a passkey vs. a password, or how they work for that matter. And there is only sketchy information for us non-techs on 1Password concerning this. Do I need an additional device to use them. Obviously, I'm no security expert.

1Password Version: 8.10.16
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: macOS 14
Browser: Not Provided

Comments

• Hello @gsetser! 👋

Thank you for the question! Passkeys are a modern alternative to passwords – they enable people to log in to their online accounts without having to enter a password.

Unlike passwords, you can’t create a weak passkey. Passkeys are generated by 1Password using a public-private key pair, which makes them strong and unique by default. Passkeys can't be phished like traditional passwords because the underlying private key never leaves 1Password – this also makes them resistant to social engineering scams.

Do I need an additional device to use them.

Nope! Passkeys are safely stored in 1Password itself and they're protected using the same encryption and security as your passwords today.

You can read more about passkeys on our blog:

Let me know if you have any other questions. 🙂

-Dave

• gsetser
    gsetser
    Community Member
    Options

Questions below:
    1. If I have a Passkey for a site, can I still use my old password to access that same site?
    2. Is it possible to have both a Passkey and a Password for a given site? (I understand that this would defeat the security advantage of a Passkey. I'm just asking.)
    3. My laptop is new but my current iPhone cannot be used with iOS17. If I use a Passkey on a given site, does this mean I can ONLY get into that site from my laptop, since I cannot use Passkey on my phone?