Hundreds of agile keychains in multiple folders in Dropbox

Pluto6
Pluto6
Community Member

I have been using 1Password for several years, used multiple versions, etc. I have literally hundreds of keychains in Dropbox in multiple folders. They probably don't cause a problem, but maybe there are some good reasons to delete all the unnecessary ones?

Can anyone tell me what folder / file(s) should be kept, and can I just delete all the others? Even when I sort by creation date it is not so clear. For instance I have several keychains created in the last couple weeks, but I have changed things in the past few days, but don't have corresponding keychains created a couple days ago. Thanks for any help.

Comments

• khad
    khad
    1Password Alumni

I have literally hundreds of keychains in Dropbox in multiple folders.

Do you mean actual 1Password.agilekeychain file bundles? Or are you referring to the 1Password.html file?

If the latter then you can simply delete all the copies of 1Password.html (including the original). Then open 1Password on your iOS device. 1Password.html will be recreated.

If the former, this scenario can happen when you already have a 1Password data file in your Dropbox folder but decline to use it when 1Password asks you to do so. In that case 1Password will ignore the data file in your Dropbox folder and create one in your Library folder. if you later decide to move your data file to Dropbox the existing data file will be renamed and set aside. Only one data file should be located in your Dropbox folder, though, to avoid confusion.

What is the location of the data file listed in 1Password for Mac's preferences on the General pane? That is the active data file. Just to double-check, you can also look at the "Modified" date of the files — as you mentioned —to see which one is likely your active data file.

You can archive the file that is not listed in 1Password's preferences and has an older "Modified" date.