Suggestion: Improving Folders and using tags in 1Password

Options
pugmum
pugmum
Community Member
edited November 2013 in Mac

I'm new to iPassword and am enjoying many of its features. It's very user-friendly but I have one suggestion that I feel would greatly improve how users are able to organize their password data:

Currently, a single item can only appear under one folder, and if that folder is deleted, the item is deleted along with it. Wouldn't it be a lot better if your Folders instead were more similar to "Albums" in iPhoto or "Playlists" in iTunes? That way, you could have one item associated with multiple "Folders"… perhaps more appropriately renamed "Collections" or something like that. So, for example, say I had a "Login" that had my son, Michael's access info for his eBay account. I could then drag it into my "Online Shopping" collection, as well as my "Michael" collection. And, if I decided to delete my "Michael Collection", it would just give me a notice that I was deleting that collection only, not the actual Login item, and would do so accordingly. I would LOVE the app to be able to do this :-)

Comments

• sjk
    sjk
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi, @pugmum. Thanks for the suggestion!

Have you tried adding Tags to items to serve the same purpose? One of the main reasons people use them is to "virtually file" items in multiple "locations" instead of just a single one like with traditional folders.

I hope that works for you. :)

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User]
    Community Member
    edited October 2013
    Options

And don't forget smart folders! Tags works best when used in combination with smart folders, in my opinon. Also, deleting a smart folder does not delete the folder's items, and an item can be stored in more than one smart folder.

• pugmum
    pugmum
    Community Member
    Options