Can't search password field -> Reopen this thread [Search All Fields option coming in update]

Options
sacorp
sacorp
Community Member
edited December 2013 in Mac

[search doesn't search password field [Confirmed, use advanced search for now]

Come on guys .. stop making excuses for bad UI design. It should not take 3,4,5,6 steps or clicks to do something that is a normal operation and was available in previous versions. Obviously many people search the password field.
Why would you remove this capability?
I've been developing software for 31 years and I have alway designed the user interface to be smart but never limiting or burdensome. If you have to hide something (no good reason why) give us 2 modes. One mode for dumb users and one mode for advanced users.

Comments

• Jasper
    edited November 2013
    Options

Why would you remove this capability?

When 1Password is being used to generate/store/access passwords that needn't be memorable there seems little reason to have them be searchable by default, i.e. "by password" isn't considered a primary search criteria in the majority of usage cases. Also to be conservative with what is searched by default to keep it light and quick.

If you have to hide something (no good reason why) give us 2 modes. One mode for dumb users and one mode for advanced users.

As an advanced user, I use unique, randomly generated password for all my logins.
    Being able to search through =EkNjby/%cPWqc4Mh9aC9,4ZH and TmP]j6hW2tCZ$?42^sonChjYi and kMi7@^6fL2nBJypTUs9:UYNs@ doesn't seem helpful to me at all, especially as a default search.

• necktilt
    necktilt
    Community Member
    Options

I still don't see how I can search for a password. What is an "advanced search", and how do I use it to search for a password in the Password field?

• Hey @necktilt, here are instructions as said by @MikeT: