Feedback (Good, now how to make it really good)

pboos
pboos
Community Member
edited December 2013 in Android

Hello everyone!

First of all I want to say that the new app is a BIG improvement to the old one! I really like it! I really started to get annoyed with the old one. Now I am happy again :). But of course as a Android Developer I notice several things in the app that still could be better. But let me share with you my positive and "room for improvement" points that I noticed within the first minutes of using the app:

Positive:

• Design really looks nice! Finally looking like a Android App
  • Nice use of NavigationDrawer
  • Getting to the data is so much faster now!! Previous app I had to wait like 30 seconds after entering the password. And I never knew why.
  • Now I can finally sync again :) Before I could not sync and new passwords would not get synced over.

Room for improvement:

• Main List scrolling seems laggy. This should normally not happen in android apps, except you are doing something wrong (something on the UI thread that should not be done). One thing that could be the reason is decrypting the data. If that is the case, there is still a way to do it right (do that part in a background thread). But one reason could be my next point
  • Way too much overdraw! This could be slowing down the list. One part of that problem seems to be the navigation drawer (see next point)

• NavigationDrawer on left used with a non standard library (I would prefer using the library that Google offers: http://developer.android.com/training/implementing-navigation/nav-drawer.html )

• Usage of NavigationDrawer flawed. All the navigation is done on the top activity it seems. and back goes a fragment back. Sometimes back opens/closes the navigation drawer. This should be optimised. Otherwise this is way too confusing for the user (it is even for me as a developer who knows what you are doing). This as well happens in the ActionBar.